2011 UNO awardees announced

By February 22, 2011 24,884 Comments

The Commission on UNO Awards & Recognition formally announced the UNO (Upsilonian Outstanding & Noble) awardees for 2011. The UNO Award is the highest form of recognition conferred on Upsilonians based on the Fraternity’s Five Imperatives namely Brotherhood, Integrity, Excellence, Leadership and Service. The process of selection of the UNO awardees is focused on establishing a continuous body of lifetime work and accomplishments marked with excellence, consistent high quality, concern for the greater good, and integrity and conduct beyond reproach.

After serious deliberations, the panel of judges were unanimous in approving and endorsing the conferment of the UNO award to Justice Romeo M. Escareal ’48, lawyer and Sandiganbayan Justice; Dr. Jose D. Drilon, Jr. ’51 (posthumous), U.P. Regent, multi-awarded public servant and the Father of Agribusiness in the Philippines; Romeo M. Liamzon ’53 (posthumous), lawyer, banker & president of the Rural Bankers Association of the Philippines; Engr. Claudio B. Altura ’54, technocrat, valedictorian and board topnotcher; Ponciano E. Rivera, Jr. ’61, businessman, U.P. Regent & UP Alumni Association President; Carlos A. Pedrosa ’62, investment banker, consultant and enterpreneur; and Health Undersecretary Teodoro J. Herbosa ’78, physician, author and public servant.

The seven UNO awardees for 2011 join the illustrious company of thirty-two other awardees who include Finance Secretary Pio P. Pedrosa ’22, Father of Philippine Television and Alto Broadcasting System (ABS) founder Antonio Quirino ’26, student leader and World War II hero Camarines Norte Governor Wenceslao Q. Vinzons 30, U.P. President Salvador P. Lopez ’31, Vice President & Senate President Arturo M. Tolentino ’31, House Speaker Jose B. Laurel, Jr. ’32, Dean Armando J. Malay ’34, Senator Gerardo M. Roxas ’46, U.P. President Onofre D. Corpuz 47, Vice President Salvador H. Laurel ’47 and Senator Benigno S. Aquino, Jr. ’50.

Sharing this Post: